

GOLDING ESSAY PRIZE 2012

The CLA is offering a prize of £1000 to be awarded for an essay submitted by a student, trainee solicitor, pupil barrister, devil barrister (from Scotland) or trainee patent and trade mark attorney on the following topic:

Should genetic information be patentable and, if so, when?

Scientific understanding of genetics has developed enormously since the description of the double helix structure of DNA by Watson and Crick in 1953. Increasingly, courts and patent offices are being asked to consider the moral, ethical and practical implications of patent applications relating to genetic information. Recent examples include Eli Lilly v Human Genome Sciences (in the European Patent Office and UK Supreme Court), Brüstle v Greenpeace (in the European Court of Justice) and Association for Molecular Pathology v U.S. Patent and Trademark Office ("Myriad", in the US Court of Appeal for the Federal Circuit).

The essay shall be of a maximum length of 5000 words (inclusive of footnotes) and the closing date for submission of entries is 29 February 2012. Entries should be formatted on A4 in at least 11 point font and 1.5 spacing with footnotes at the bottom of the page, and submitted in electronic form to the CLA secretary, Sharon Horwitz at sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk.

Entrants should please place a codeword instead of their real name on the essay and include both the codeword and real name, with confirmation that the author satisfies the entry qualifications, in the covering e-mail.

| CHAIRMAN: | James Flynn QC | Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk |
|-------------------------------|--|---|
| VICE-CHAIRMAN: | Susan Singleton | Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com |
| NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: | George Peretz | Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com |
| TREASURER: | Jeremy Robinson | Gates & Partners: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: jrobinson@gatesandpartners.com |
| SECRETARY: | Sharon Horwitz | Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk |
| PUBLICITY SECRETARY: | Christopher Stothers | Arnold & Porter (UK) LLP, Telephone: 020 7786 6100; Email: Christopher.Stothers@aporter.com |
| ADMINISTRATOR: | Suzanne Snook | Telephone: 0845 838 1916; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk |
| OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS: | Jenny Block, Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Irina von Wiese | |

Those already qualified as lawyers whether in the United Kingdom or a foreign jurisdiction are not eligible for the prize and the entry qualifications apply as at 29 February 2012.

The panel of judges will be:

| Nicholas Saunders (Chairman) | Brick Court Chambers |
|------------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Professor Alison Firth | Surrey University |
| Clive Thorne | Reynolds Porter Chamberlain |

The decision of the judges is final and the CLA reserves the right not to award the prize if the judges consider that no entry is of a sufficiently high standard or to divide the prize between two or more entries if the judges so decide.

The CLA encourages all entrants to consider submitting their entries for publication, and may lend support to the submission of the winning entry. The winning entry must only be published if it is identified on publication as having won CLA's Golding Essay Prize. All entrants agree not to submit their entries for publication until after the judges have announced their decision.

| CHAIRMAN: | James Flynn QC | Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk |
|-------------------------------|--|---|
| VICE-CHAIRMAN: | Susan Singleton | Singletons: Telephone: 020 8866 1934; Email: susan@singlelaw.com |
| NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: | George Peretz | Monckton Chambers: Telephone: 020 7405 7211; Email: gperetz@monckton.com |
| TREASURER: | Jeremy Robinson | Gates & Partners: Telephone: 020 7337 0392; Email: jrobinson@gatesandpartners.com |
| SECRETARY: | Sharon Horwitz | Ofcom: Telephone: 020 7783 4036; Email: sharon.horwitz@ofcom.org.uk |
| PUBLICITY SECRETARY: | Christopher Stothers | Arnold & Porter (UK) LLP, Telephone: 020 7786 6100; Email: Christopher.Stothers@aporter.com |
| ADMINISTRATOR: | Suzanne Snook | Telephone: 0845 838 1916; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk |
| OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS: | Jenny Block, Euan Burrows, Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders, Irina von Wiese | |