

British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence
(International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.ligue.org

3 March 2017

Dear Member

MEMBERS:

## Evening Meeting at Watson Farley & Williams: Thursday 6 April, 2017 at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Thursday 6 April** at **Watson Farley & Williams LLP**, 15 Appold Street, London EC2A 2HB. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the lecture at 6:15pm.

Thomas Kramler, Nicholas Saunders and Stephen Wisking have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

How should "geo-blocking" practices be assessed from a competition law and IP perspective in light of the European Commission's e-commerce sector inquiry and Paramount Studios commitments decision, and what are the proposals for reform?

**Thomas Kramler** is Head of the Digital Single Market Task Force responsible for the e-commerce sector inquiry in the European Commission's Directorate General for Competition. Mr Kramler holds a law degree and a PhD from the University of Vienna, Austria. He has graduated with a Master's degree in European Community Law from the College of Europe (Bruges). Previously Mr Kramler was deputy head of the unit responsible for antitrust cases in the information industries, internet and consumer electronics sectors. Before joining the European Commission Mr Kramler worked as agent representing the Austrian government before the European Courts in Luxemburg.

**Nicholas Saunders** is a barrister at Brick Court Chambers and practises in commercial, competition and intellectual property law. He was appointed standing counsel for the UK government on intellectual property in 2014 and regularly advises and appears in the higher appeal courts and before the CJEU.

**Stephen Wisking** is a Partner at Herbert Smith. Stephen practises in all aspects of competition law. He has extensive experience in contentious competition matters including cartels, market investigations and competition litigation (follow-on damages, stand-alone litigation and regulatory appeals) as well as providing non-contentious strategic competition advice and advising on mergers. He has been involved in competition disputes since the start of his career and has been involved in numerous cases in the Competition Appeal Tribunal (CAT) since its inception in 2001. His particular sectoral experience is in relation to media (particularly broadcasting), telecoms, energy and pharmaceuticals and professional services.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN (IP):	Christopher Stothers	Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP: Telephone: 020 7786 6226; Email: Christopher.Stothers@apks.com
VICE-CHAIRMAN (COMPETITION):	Euan Burrows	Ashurst LLP: Telephone: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	Michael Browne	Redd Solicitors LLP: Telephone: 020 7776 4760; Email: michael.browne@redd.eu
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Watson Farley & Williams LLP: Telephone: 020 3036 9800; Email: jrobinson@wfw.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:		
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE	Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Jason Logendra,	

Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, George Peretz QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders



## Competition Law Association

British Group of the Lique Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

> www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

The session will be followed by refreshments. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers).

On-line registration will close on Wednesday 5 April. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With kind regards

**Sharon Horwitz** Secretary

Brick Court Chambers: Telephone: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk VICE-CHAIRMAN (IP): **Christopher Stothers** Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP: Telephone: 020 7786 6226; Email: Christopher.Stothers@apks.com

VICE-CHAIRMAN (COMPETITION):

**Euan Burrows** 

James Flynn QC

Ashurst LLP: Telephone: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com

NATIONAL REPORTER Michael Browne GENERAL:

Redd Solicitors LLP: Telephone: 020 7776 4760; Email: michael.browne@redd.eu

TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson Watson Farley & Williams LLP: Telephone: 020 3036 9800; Email: jrobinson@wfw.com

SECRETARY: **Sharon Horwitz** CMA: Telephone: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gsi.gov.uk

PUBLICITY SECRETARY:

CHAIRMAN:

ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Telephone: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Jason Logendra, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, George Peretz QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders