

British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence
(International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.ligue.org

19 December 2018

Dear Member

Evening Meeting at Bristows LLP: Tuesday 15 January, 2019 at 6.00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Tuesday 15 January** at **Bristows LLP**, 100 Victoria Embankment, London EC4Y 0DH. Registration for the event will start at 6pm followed by the talk and opportunity for discussion at 6:15pm.

David Rosenberg and Darren Smyth have kindly agreed to speak on the following subject:

"Lyrica in the Supreme Court: broader lessons for pharmaceuticals"

There was much excitement surrounding the Supreme Court's judgment in November on Pfizer's second medical use patent for Pregabalin for pain (Pfizer's blockbuster Lyrica drug). Now that the dust has settled, we will discuss the broader implications for the pharmaceutical sector and the competitive framework for drugs with both patented and unpatented uses.

David Rosenberg is a solicitor and, until the end of the year, is Vice President IP Policy at GlaxoSmithKline. Before he joined GSK in 2000, he was in the IP department at a major City law firm. Since then, he has handled GSK external IP policy work and been deeply involved in such matters as work on access to medicines and the UPC. He sits on many trade associations and chairs the IP committee of EFPIA (the European innovative pharmaceutical trade association). He was deeply involved in the European Commission Sector Inquiry into the Pharmaceutical Industry.

Darren Smyth is a UK and European Patent Attorney and is the head of EIP's chemistry practice group EIP Elements. Darren did his undergraduate degree and DPhil at Oxford University and a post-doc in Japan before entering the patent profession in 1998. He wrote for the intellectual property law blog the IPKat for five years and now blogs as the IP Alchemist. He is on the editorial board of the Journal of Intellectual Property Law and Practice and is an honorary research fellow at the Evidence-Based Medicine DataLab at the University of Oxford. Darren is on the committee of IP Out, the LGBT+ group for people working in intellectual property.

CHAIRMAN:	James Flynn QC	Brick Court Chambers: Tel: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk
VICE-CHAIRMAN (IP):	Christopher Stothers	Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP: Tel: 020 7832 7034; Email: Christopher.Stothers@freshfields.com
VICE-CHAIRMAN (COMPETITION):	Euan Burrows	Ashurst LLP: Tel: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL:	Michael Browne	Wiggin LLP: Tel: 020 7612 739; Email: Michael.Browne@wiggin.co.uk
TREASURER:	Jeremy Robinson	Watson Farley & Williams LLP: Tel: 020 3036 9800; Email: jrobinson@wfw.com
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Tel: 020 3738 6820; Email: Sharon.horwitz@cma.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jason Logendra	Sky UK Limited: Telephone: 020 7032 2048; Email: Jason.Logendra@sky.uk
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Tel: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, George Peretz QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders	



Competition Law Association

British Group of the Lique Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (International League for Competition Law)

> www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk www.ligue.org

The session will be followed by refreshments. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, or £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers).

Online registration will close on Monday 14 January. Tickets will not be issued for this event.

With kind regards

Sharon Horwitz

Secretary

CHAIRMAN:

MEMBERS:

James Flynn QC

VICE-CHAIRMAN (IP): **Christopher Stothers** Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP: Tel: 020 7832 7034; Email: Christopher.Stothers@freshfields.com VICE-CHAIRMAN Ashurst LLP: Tel: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com **Euan Burrows** (COMPETITION): NATIONAL REPORTER Michael Browne Wiggin LLP: Tel: 020 7612 739; Email: Michael.Browne@wiggin.co.uk GENERAL: TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson Watson Farley & Williams LLP: Tel: 020 3036 9800; Email: jrobinson@wfw.com SECRETARY: **Sharon Horwitz** CMA: Tel: 020 3738 6820; Email: Sharon.horwitz@cma.gov.uk Sky UK Limited: Telephone: 020 7032 2048; Email: Jason.Logendra@sky.uk Jason Logendra SECRETARY: ADMINISTRATOR: Suzanne Snook Tel: 01245 355 333; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Munesh Mahtani, Christopher Morcom QC, George Peretz QC, Giles Pratt, Nicholas Saunders **OTHER COMMITTEE**

Brick Court Chambers: Tel: 020 7379 3550; Email: james.flynn@brickcourt.co.uk