

British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence
(International League for Competition Law)

www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk

www.ligue.org

9 February 2023

Dear Member

Evening Meeting: Wednesday 1 March 2023 at 6:00 pm

The CLA will be holding an evening meeting on **Wednesday 1 March** at 6:00 pm at Matrix Chambers, Griffin Building, Gray's Inn, London WC1R 5LN. Registration will open at 5:45pm and the talk will begin promptly at 6.00pm.

The Hon Mr Justice Marcus Smith has kindly agreed to speak on the following:

"Where Competition and IP Meet!"

This strapline of the LIDC, of which the CLA is the UK National Group, reflects the uneasy relationship between intellectual property and competition law. We are delighted that The Honourable Mr Justice Marcus Smith, who is both President of the Competition Appeal Tribunal and a judge of the Patents Court, and who regularly decides cases on the interface between the two disciplines, has agreed to provide us with his thoughts on how that relationship functions and how it might work even better in the future.

The Hon Mr Justice Marcus Smith, President, Competition Appeal Tribunal. Sir Marcus Smith was called to the Bar in 1991 and was appointed Queens Counsel in 2010. He was appointed as a Chair at the Competition Appeal Tribunal in 2009, and has sat regularly since that date, hearing cases across the full range of work at the Tribunal. In 2017, he was appointed to the High Court (Chancery Division). He hears cases across the whole range of Business and Property Courts work, as well as sitting in the Upper Tribunal (Tax and Chancery), the Administrative Court, and the Patents Court.

To register for this event, please visit the 'New Events' section of the CLA website: https://www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk/newevents.htm

The session will be followed by refreshments. There is no additional charge for members. There will be a charge for non-members: £50, £35 (full time academic/public sector employees), or £10 (students, trainees, pupil barristers).

CHAIRMAN:	Euan Burrows	Ashurst LLP: Tel: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com
VICE-CHAIRMAN:	Christopher Stothers	Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP: Tel: 020 7832 7034; Email: christopher.stothers@freshfields.com
NATIONAL REPORTER GENERAL: TREASURER:	Nicholas Gibson	Matrix Chambers: Tel: 020 7404 3447; Email: nicholasgibson@matrixlaw.co.uk
	Jeremy Robinson	Harcus Parker Limited: Tel: 020 3995 3900; Email: JRobinson@harcusparker.co.uk
SECRETARY:	Sharon Horwitz	CMA: Tel: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gov.uk
PUBLICITY SECRETARY:	Jason Logendra	The Walt Disney Company: Telephone: 020 8222 1135; Email: jason.logendra@disney.com
ADMINISTRATOR:	Suzanne Snook	Tel: 01245 672 083; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk
OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Christopher Morcom KC, Collette Rawnsley, Ben Rayment, Tess Waldron	



British Group of the
Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence

(International League for Competition Law)
www.competitionlawassociation.org.uk
www.ligue.org

Online registration will close midday on Tuesday 28 February

With kind regards

Sharon Horwitz Secretary

CHAIRMAN: Euan Burrows Ashurst LLP: Tel: 020 7859 2919; Email: euan.burrows@ashurst.com

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Christopher Stothers Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP: Tel: 020 7832 7034; Email: christopher.stothers@freshfields.com

NATIONAL REPORTER

GENERAL:

TREASURER: Jeremy Robinson

Matrix Chambers: Tel: 020 7404 3447; Email: nicholasgibson@matrixlaw.co.uk

Harcus Parker Limited: Tel: 020 3995 3900; Email: JRobinson@harcusparker.co.uk

SECRETARY: Sharon Horwitz CMA: Tel: 020 3738 6820; Email: sharon.horwitz@cma.gov.uk

PUBLICITY SECRETARY: Jason Logendra

Nicholas Gibson

The Walt Disney Company: Telephone: 020 8222 1135; Email: jason.logendra@disney.com

SECRETARY: ADMINISTRATOR:

Suzanne Snook

Tel: 01245 672 083; Email: admin@competitionlawassociation.org.uk

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Collette Rawnsley, Ben Rayment, Tess Waldron

Kim Dietzel, Bruce Kilpatrick, Sophie Lawrance, Celia Lloyd Davidson, Nathalie Lobel-Lastmann, Christopher Morcom KC,